Man on a Ledge

PG-13 for a fugitive with a startling secret, a crisis negotiator with a wild hunch, a plot with an obvious gimmick

Release Date: January 27, 2012

 

I know it’s early to be handicapping the 2013 Oscar race. But what could top Man on a Ledge for Action Gimmick of the Year?


I consider myself a connoisseur of the Gimmick Film. (In fact, I consider myself a connoisseur of everything, including my own misspellings of the word “connoisseur.”) And let me be the first to say that Man on a Ledge may soon join the great pantheon of gimmick films, alongside such legends as Speed and Phone Booth. These films may, in fact, soon constitute a Holy Trinity of Gimmicks, a standing monument to the human capacity for suspended disbelief.

My only worry is that Man on a Ledge may stray too far from its premise. What’s this nonsense in the trailer about the building across the street? I have no interest in the mental juggling required to keep track of events in two entirely different buildings. I just want a man on a ledge. Is that too much to ask, Man on a Ledge?

Leave a Reply

